Fall 2014 Catonsville Club List

Written by admin   // August 24, 2014   // 1 Comment

CAT.map.trees.web

The CCBC Catonsville Student Life Office is committed to providing educational, developmental, and social activities that complement the classroom learning experience.  The office of Student Life sponsors a variety of clubs and organizations and hosts events through the academic school year.  All clubs, organizations, and events are open to all CCBC students.

 

2am Creative Writing Club – Have your poems, short stories or short plays read and critiqued – find out how far they can go –maybe even get published! Meets Wednesdays from 1-3PM  in HUMN 105.  Advisor: Brian Sateriale – bsateriale@ccbcmd.edu

 

Advocacy, Activism & Volunteering Club (AAV): Address and advocate for issues that pertain to the society and encourage students to participate in volunteer activities.

 Advisor: Toni Aho – 443-840-4194 – taho@ccbcmd.edu

 

African Student Union: Unite students from various African countries and all those concerned with its welfare; Promote African culture and educate students about the continent Africa. Meets Thur. 2:30-4:30pm, in LIBR 114

Advisor: Bunmi Hall – 443-840-5066 – bhall@ccbcmd.edu

 

Art, Design, and Interactive Media (ADIM): Expose the College community to visual arts and plan art inspired activities, such as trips to art museums. Meets Fridays 2:30PM – 3:30PM in the C-ARTS Gallery Advisor – Eric Miller – 443-840-4324 emiller@ccbcmd.edu

    

American Sign Language Club: Provide a safe and inviting atmosphere for students of varying ASL skill levels; instill a sense of camaraderie amongst club members; and support the Deaf Community in a productive and positive manner. Meets every other Thur. 2:30-3:30pm in ARTS 305

Advisor: Ricky Perry – 443-840-4391 – rperry@ccbcmd.edu

 

Anime Club: Promote Japanese culture, video games, and Anime to the CCBC student body. Thu 3-5pm BARN

Advisor: Sandra Tavegia – 443-840-4443 – stavegia@ccbcmd.edu

 

Aviation Association: To increase interest in aviation; expose members to aviation career opportunities; and celebrate the wonders of manual flight. 

Advisor: Chris Komsa – 443-840-4209 – ckomsa@ccbcmd.edu

 

Barnstormers: Support, promote and create theatre activities and productions for the Catonsville area while fostering student understanding of the craft of theatre. Meets Mon 3-5pm in BARN Theatre and Wed. 1-3pm in ARTS 307.

Advisor: Julie Lewis – 443-840-1538 – jlewis2@ccbcmd.edu

 

Black Student Union: Establish unity and create awareness regarding the cultural experiences and contributions of people of African descent. Meets Mon 1:30-3pm in BARN

Advisor: Anthony Alleyne – 443-840-4130 – aalleyne@ccbcmd.edu

 

Catonsville Student Nurses Association (CSNA): Provide an opportunity for student involvement in a professional association and with the community and to meet the special needs of the nursing student, including educational enhancement. Meetings are held the second Tuesday of the month in HTEC 313

Advisor: Fran Finley – 443-840-4134 – ffinley@ccbcmd.edu

 

CCBC Connection: Provide a vehicle for the literary and journalistic talents and interests of the CCBC student body.

Advisor: Jeremy Caplan – 443-840-5983 – jcaplan@ccbcmd.edu

 

 

Christian Fellowship:  Bible study and fellowship, participates in service projects, sponsors guest speakers and events, and enjoy one another’s company as we seek to live out our faith in Jesus Christ. Meets on Wednesdays from 12:00-2:00 in BARN

President: JoeHarmonjojoharmon@rocketmail.com

nd share in the fun, the food, and the word of the Lord! :)

Civic Engagement: Non-academic service opportunities sponsored by the Student Life Office.

Advisor: Toni Aho – 443-840-4194 – taho@ccbcmd.edu

 

Dance Express: Provide a safe and educational atmosphere for students to learn to dance; and provide the opportunity for students to showcase their skills and talents. Meets Tue n Thu 6-10pm and Sat. 12-5pm in ARTS-115

Advisor: Kauscha Howard – 443-840-1521 – khoward@ccbcmd.edu

 

Enactus: Bring together the top leaders of today and tomorrow to create a better, more sustainable world through the positive power of business. Meets every Wed. 1:30- 3pm in BESS 318

Advisor: Melissa Hill – 240-674-5365- mhill2@ccbcmd.edu

 

Film Society: to give student directors, writers, and editors, the opportunity to create and discuss films in a productive and supportive environment. Meets Tues. 3-6pm in HUMN 100

Advisor: Beth Baunoch – 443-840-2518 – bbaunoch@ccbcmd.edu

 

Fitness & Health Club: To educate and promote awareness for physical fitness on all levels; including both the physical and mental aspects of health. Meets

Advisor: John Casey – 443-840-4364 – jcasey3@ccbcmd.edu

 

Gay-Straight Alliance: The Gay-Straight Alliance of CCBC Catonsville welcomes all (LGBTQIA) lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, and straight ally members to come and talk about any issues concerning them. Listening is our main objective. Meets every Monday 1-2 pm in HUMN 105

Advisor: Theresa Robinson – trobinson@ccbcmd.edu – 443-840-4441

 

Global Initiatives Club – This club promotes global awareness through interaction with people from around the world. It includes the Global Distinction Students as well as the Intercultural Dialogue Students. All students are welcome. Meets Thursdays from 12-1 in the Barn Theater. Advisor – Encarni Trueba – 443-840-4682- etrueba@ccbcmd.edu

 

Green Club: Environmental education and stewardship on the campus and in the community. Meets weekly on Tuesdays from 3:30 – 5 in CLRM 207

Advisor: William Schockner – 443-840-2504 – wschockner@ccbcmd.edu

 

Health Informatics & Information Technology Student Association: Provide information about Health and Information Technology.

President: Julie Brooks – 443 897 8791– jmbrooks75@gmail.com

 

Helping Hands: Helping students with disabilities come together to talk about how they can support one another with issues they face as students; inviting all students to learn more about each other and advocating for services and positive experiences. Meets Thursdays  1:30 – 2:30pm in HUMN 202

Advisor: Carla Parish Ward – 443-840-2753 – cpward@ccbcmd.edu

 

History Club: Provide a fun-loving atmosphere pertaining to the study and observation of historical culture.

Advisor: Josh Ackerman – jackerman@ccbcmd.edu

 

International Club: Educate CCBC students about international culture and provide a support network for International students at CCBC. Meets Wed 2-4pm in BARN

Advisor: Amanda Stearns – 443-840-4247 – astearns2@ccbcmd.edu

 

Interior Design Association: Provide opportunities for students to become acquainted and involved with the professional field of Interior Design and benefit the campus and community through programs and services. First Tuesday of the month in CLRM 215 from 5-6pm.

Advisor: Laura Kimball – 443-840-4954 – lkimball@ccbcmd.edu

 

Literary Arts: Evaluate the creative output of CCBC’s student body and produce the Fine Print, CCBC’s literary magazine.

Advisor: Evan Balkan – 443-840-4976 – ebalkan@ccbcmd.edu

 

Medieval and Fantasy Society: To promote interest in Medieval and fantasy activities, healthy role playing, fantasy combat and historical recreation. Meets Tues 3-5pm in BARN

Advisor: John McWilliams- jmcwilliams@ccbcmd.edu

 

Micology:  The purpose of MICology Family shall be to provide maximum opportunity for participation in all aspects of verbal and visual expression. Meets Thurs 3-5pm SSRV 100/HUMN 206

Advisor: Shawntaye Adams – 443-840-4255 – sadams2@ccbcmd.edu

 

Multi-Cultural Student Association (MCSA): Provide programs that increase the awareness, understanding and appreciation of the culturally diverse CCBC student population. Meets alternate Mondays from 2:30-4pm in SSRV 100.

Advisor: John Lawton – 443-840-4145 – jlawton@ccbcmd.edu

 

Muslim Student Association (MSA): Provide an accurate representation of Islamic culture and create a bridge of understanding between Muslim and non-Muslim students. Weekly meetings on Thursdays 11-12:30 in the Barn Lounge and Jummah Pray on Fridays 1:00-2:30pm in Barn Theater

Advisor: Dawan El-Amin – 443-840-4512 – del-amin@ccbcmd.edu

 

Phi Theta Kappa: Recognize and encourage scholarship and provide students the opportunity to engage in leadership and community service. Meets alternating Thursdays from 5-6pm in the Barn Lounge

Advisor: Stephanie Molholt-Mowles – 443-840-5916 – smolholt@ccbcmd.edu

 

Psychology Club: Increase the members’ knowledge of psychology and provide the opportunity to share in constructive learning experiences. Meets Thu 3-5pm in H327 `

Advisor: Alisa Diop – 443-840-4945 – adiop@ccbcmd.edu

 

Service Learning: Academic related service arranged between a student, faculty and a non-profit organization

Advisor: Lisa Baker – lbaker4@ccbcmd.edu

 

Student Occupational Therapy Association: Increase awareness of the profession of occupational therapy education and engage in learning activities that provide an extension to the classroom and clinical instruction. Meets every other Mon 10:30-11:30 HTEC-314

Advisor: Diane Hunter – 443-840-4161 – dhunter@ccbcmd.edu

 

Student Government Association: Advocate for students by serving as the liaison between students and CCBC Administrators and plan social programs and programs that allow students to express their opinions and concerns. Meets from 2-3:30pm on alternating Tuesdays in SSRV-100 beginning October 7

Advisor: Dan Sym – 443-840-4488 – dsym@ccbcmd.edu

      

Student Honors Council: Promote and encourage academic excellence and enrich the learning experiences of students within the CCBC and Catonsville community and coordinate student service and social activities. Wednesday 3:30-5:30, Honors center – Temp2

Advisor: Natasha Cole-Leonard – 443-840-4654 – nleonard@ccbcmd.edu

 

Studio 8oo: Supports and promotes various artists; helps with recording and specializes in vocal training Meets alternating Tuesdays from 3:30pm – 5:30 in Arts 119.

Advisor: Daniel Lewis – 443-840-1057 – dlewis7@ccbcmd.edu

  

Society of STEM Scholars: Serving as a common ground for those majoring in and interested in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math.  We welcome students of all science majors to share ideas and promote success of fellow STEM students. Meets February 20, March 20,and April 24 at 3- 4:30 pm in HUMN 204.

Advisor: Darlene Cross – dcross@ccbcmd.edu

 

Veterans Association: To inform and help veterans and their loved ones access the academic and financial benefits available to them. Meets on Mondays from 11:30 – 1:30 pm in the BARN.

Advisor: Walt Gunther – wgunther@ccbcmd.edu

Office of Student Life-Catonsville Location: BARN – l02

Email: catonsvillestulife@ccbcmd.edu Phone: 443-840-4322


Similar posts

1 COMMENT

  1. By Michelle, August 24, 2014

    Please consider signing up for a club that interests you today! Club participation is a way to plug into the university in a way that allows you to connect with others who share similar interests and to make a positive impact on the university and the greater community!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *