Fall 2015 Catonsville Club List

Written by admin   // August 25, 2015   // 3 Comments

CAT.map.trees.web

The CCBC Catonsville Student Life Office is committed to providing educational, developmental, and social activities that complement the classroom learning experience.  The office of Student Life sponsors a variety of clubs and organizations and hosts events through the academic school year.  All clubs, organizations, and events are open to all CCBC students.


Office of Student Life: Catonsville

Location: BARN 003

catonsvillestulife@ccbcmd.edu

443-840-4322

Social Media:

facebook.com/StudentLifeatCCBC

twitter: @CCBCStudentLife

Instagram: @CCBCStudentLife

Events notification:

mobile app: corqapp.com

text @ccbcmd to 443-955-5867

listserv: catonsvillestulife@ccbcmd.edu


 African Student Union (ASU): Unite students from various African countries and all those concerned with its welfare; Promote African culture and educate students about the continent Africa. Meets every Thursday from 2:30-4:30pm in CLLB 101.

For more information, please contact advisor Bunmi Hall (443-840-5066 or bhall@ccbcmd.edu)

Art, Design, and Interactive Media (ADIM):Expose the College community to visual arts and plan art inspired activities, such as trips to art museums.

For more information, please contact advisor Sarada Conaway – 443-840-4699 SConaway@ccbcmd.edu

American Sign Language (ASL) Club: Provide a safe and inviting atmosphere for students of varying ASL skill levels; instill a sense of camaraderie amongst club members; and support the Deaf Community in a productive and positive manner. Meets every other Wednesday from 3:30-5:00 in ARTS 210.

For more information, please contact advisor Peggy McCoy– 443-840-4274 – pmccoy@ccbcmd.edu

 Anime Club: Promote Japanese culture, video games, and Anime to the CCBC student body. Meets every Thursday 3-5pm in BARN 100.

For more information, please contact advisor Sandra Tavegia – 443-840-4443 – stavegia@ccbcmd.edu

 Barnstormers: Support, promote and create theatre activities and productions for the Catonsville area while fostering student understanding of the craft of theatre. Meets every Monday  3-5pm in BARN 100.

For more information, please contact advisor Ryan Clark – 443-840-1538 – rclark2@ccbcmd.edu

 Black Student Union (BSU): Establish unity and create awareness regarding the cultural experiences and contributions of people of African descent. Meets every Mon 1:30-3pm in BARN 100.

For more information, please contact advisor Anthony Alleyne – 443-840-4130 – aalleyne@ccbcmd.edu

 Business Club (formerly Enactus): Bring together the top leaders of today and tomorrow to create a better, more sustainable world through the positive power of business. Meets every Thurs. 12:45 – 2pm in BESS 208

For more information, please contact advisor Melissa Stitt – 443-420-8404- mstitt@ccbcmd.edu

Catonsville Student Nurses Association (CSNA): Provide an opportunity for student involvement in a professional association and with the community and to meet the special needs of the nursing student, including educational enhancement. Meets the second Tuesday of every month from 3-4:30 pm in HTEC 231.

For more information, please contact advisor Fran Finley – 443-840-4134 – ffinley@ccbcmd.edu

CCBC Connection: Provide a vehicle for the literary and journalistic talents and interests of the CCBC student body.

For more information, please contact advisor Jeremy Caplan – 443-840-5983 – jcaplan@ccbcmd.edu

Christian Fellowship:  Bible study and fellowship, participates in service projects, sponsors guest speakers and events, and enjoy one another’s company as we seek to live out our faith in Jesus Christ. Meets on Wednesdays from 12-2 pm in BARN 100.

For more information, please contact advisor Carol Byrd – cbyrd@ccbcmd.edu

Civic Engagement: Non-academic service opportunities sponsored by the Student Life Office.

For more information, please contact advisor Toni Aho – 443-840-4194 – taho@ccbcmd.edu

 Contemporary Commercial Music Club (CCMC): Fosters learning, performing, and socializing for those that have an interest in music – singing and instrumental.  This is where musicians and singers can come together in a stress-free environment and just be themselves.  An a capella group, rock jam sessions, and open mic nights are in progress!  Meets every Wednesday 3:30pm-5pm and every Friday 3-5 pm in ARTS-003. 

For more information, please contact advisor Rebecca Ocampo — 443-840-4014 – rocampo@ccbcmd.edu

 Dance Express: Provide a safe and educational atmosphere for students to learn to dance; and provide the opportunity for students to showcase their skills and talents. Meets Tue n Thu 6-10pm and Sat. 12-5pm in ARTS 005

For more information, please contact advisor Kauscha Howard – 443-840-1521 – khoward@ccbcmd.edu

Film Society: to give student directors, writers, and editors, the opportunity to create and discuss films in a productive and supportive environment. Meets Tues. 3-6pm in HTEC 035

For more information, please contact advisor Beth Baunoch – 443-840-2518 – bbaunoch@ccbcmd.edu

Fitness & Health Club: To educate and promote awareness for physical fitness on all levels; including both the physical and mental aspects of health. Meetings are held every Friday 3-4:30 in BARN 100.

For more information, please contact advisor Officer Day – 443-840-2534 – rday@ccbcmd.edu

 Gay-Straight Alliance: The Gay-Straight Alliance of CCBC Catonsville welcomes all (LGBTQIA) lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, and straight ally members to come and talk about any issues concerning them. Listening is our main objective. Meets Wednesdays from 2-3pm in HUMN 003.

For more information, please contact advisor Brian Gunn – bgunn@ccbcmd.edu – 443-840-4550

Green Club: Environmental education and stewardship on the campus and in the community.

For more information, please contact advisor William Schockner – 443-840-2504 – wschockner@ccbcmd.edu

 Helping Hands: Helping students with disabilities come together to talk about how they can support one another with issues they face as students; inviting all students to learn more about each other and advocating for services and positive experiences.

For more information, please contact advisor Carla Parish Ward – 443-840-2753 – cpward@ccbcmd.edu

International Club: Educate CCBC students about international culture and provide a support network for International students at CCBC. Meets every Wed 2-4:30 pm in BARN 100.

For more information, please contact advisor Sunny Kim at – 443-840-5005 skim3@ccbcmd.edu

Interior Design Association: Provide opportunities for students to become acquainted and involved with the professional field of Interior Design and benefit the campus and community through programs and services. Meets the first Thursday of the month in ARTS 212 at 4:30-5:30 pm.

For more information, please contact advisor Laura Kimball – 443-840-4954 – lkimball@ccbcmd.edu

 Medieval and Fantasy Society: To promote interest in Medieval and fantasy activities, healthy role playing, fantasy combat and historical recreation. Meets every Tues 3-5pm in BARN 100.

For more information, please contact advisor John McWilliams  - jmcwilliams@ccbcmd.edu

MICology Family:  The purpose of MICology Family shall be to provide maximum opportunity for participation in all aspects of verbal and visual expression. Meets Thurs 3-5pm in SSRV 004.

For more information, please contact advisor Shawntaye Adams – 443-840-4255 – sadams2@ccbcmd.edu

Multi-Cultural Student Association (MCSA): Provide programs that increase the awareness, understanding and appreciation of the culturally diverse CCBC student population. Meets alternate Mondays from 2:30-4:30pm in SSRV 004.

For more information, please contact advisor John Lawton – 443-840-4145 – jlawton@ccbcmd.edu

 Muslim Student Association (MSA): Provide an accurate representation of Islamic culture and create a bridge of understanding between Muslim and non-Muslim students. Weekly Business meetings on Mondays and Wednesdays from 11-12:30 in HTEC 130 and Jummah Prayer on Fridays 1:00-2:30pm in Barn 100.

For more information, please contact advisor Dawan El-Amin (443-840-4512 or del-amin@ccbcmd.edu)

Phi Theta Kappa: Recognize and encourage scholarship and provide students the opportunity to engage in leadership and community service.

For more information, please contact advisor Daniel Sym – 443-840-4488 – dsym@ccbcmd.edu

Philosophy Club: The Philosophy Club presents practical and engaging philosophical activities via the Interactive Facebook page and College events to engage and enlighten students to the benefits of obtaining critical thinking and intellectual skills that promote ethical and intellectual engagement.  Meets every Friday 1:30-3:30 in HUMN 008.

For more information, please contact advisor Rhonda Amenu-El 443-840-4377 or ramenuel@ccbcmd.edu  

Photography Club: Join us for a better look into photography through hands on practice and exhibition. Meetings are held every Wednesday 3-6pm in ARTS 126.

For more information, please contact advisor Bob Creamer rcreamer@ccbcmd.edu

 Psychology Club: Increase the members’ knowledge of psychology and provide the opportunity to share in constructive learning experiences. Meets Every Wednesday 1:30-3 pm in LIBR 115.

For more information, please contact advisor Azar Etesamypour-King– 443-840-4237 – aking@ccbcmd.edu

 Recreation, Parks, and Tourism Club: The RPT club will strive to raise awareness of the importance of recreation and leisure in our daily lives while planning activities to be enjoyed by the students, staff and faculty of CCBC’s Catonsville Campus.  

For more information, please contact advisor Sheema Hai – shai@ccbcmd.edu

 Society of Intersectional Feminists:  The Society of Intersectional Feminists, pledge to create a safe, educational space for all students who are interested in Intersectional Feminism. We aim to make our campus and our world a better place for everyone by generating awareness on all issues relating to Intersectional Feminism. We advocate for the oppressed, and for survivors and those lost to hatred and violence. We are a safe space! Meets every Wednesday from 2:30-4:30 pm in LIBR 114. For more information, please contact the club’s advisor Janet Gross – 443-840497 jgross2@ccbcmd.edu

 Student Occupational Therapy Association: Increase awareness of the profession of occupational therapy education and engage in learning activities that provide an extension to the classroom and clinical instruction. Meets every other Mon 12:30-1:30 HTEC-201

For more information, please contact advisor Diane Hunter – 443-840-4161 – dhunter@ccbcmd.edu

Student Government Association: Advocate for students by serving as the liaison between students and CCBC Administrators and plan social programs and programs that allow students to express their opinions and concerns. Meets from 1:30-2:30pm on Wednesdays in SSRV 004

For more information, please contact advisor Dan Sym – 443-840-4488 – dsym@ccbcmd.edu

 Student Honors Council: Promote and encourage academic excellence and enrich the learning experiences of students within the CCBC and Catonsville community and coordinate student service and social activities. Thursday 2:30-4:00, Honors center – Temp2

For more information, please contact advisor Natasha Cole-Leonard – 443-840-4654  nleonard@ccbcmd.edu

Studio 8oo: Supports and promotes various artists; helps with recording and specializes in vocal training Meets every Tuesday  from 3-5 in SSRV 004 with the exception of September 8, October 13, and November 17.

For more information, please contact advisor Judith Moton – jmoton@ccbcmd.edu  – 443-840-4714

Society of STEM Scholars:Serving as a common ground for those majoring in and interested in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math.  We welcome students of all science, technology, engineering, and math majors to share ideas and promote success of fellow STEM students.

For more information, please contact advisor Laura LeMire – llemire@ccbcmd.edu – 443-840-5904

 Student Veterans Association: To inform and help veterans and their loved ones access the academic and financial benefits available to them. Meets on Mondays from 11:30 – 1:30 pm in Barn room 100 or in the Veteran’s Lounge (Barn room 001).

For more information, please contact advisor Frank Murray – fmurray@ccbcmd.edu – 443-840-4305

 Video Game Club : Do you like to play video games? Put some fun back in your day—stop by and play some games. The Video Game Club meets every Friday from 2-4:30pm in HTEC 115. No experience necessary!

For more information, please contact advisor John McWilliams -jmcwilliams@ccbcmd.edu

 Women’s Initiative for Success and Education (W.I.S.E.) - A W.I.S.E. woman always perseveres… bridging educational, personal, and career goals for academic success.  Moreover, this organization places emphasis on three main concepts: career and educational success; time management; and finding your voice. This club meets every Wednesday from 12:30-1:30 pm in HTEC 211.

For more information, please contact advisor Sarah Holliday sholliday@ccbcmd.edu or 443.840.4035


Similar posts

3 COMMENTS

  1. By Michelle, August 24, 2014

    Please consider signing up for a club that interests you today! Club participation is a way to plug into the university in a way that allows you to connect with others who share similar interests and to make a positive impact on the university and the greater community!

    Reply
  2. By Zainab, February 20, 2015

    Hi all ma new student and i would like to be part of your club

    Reply
    • By Jennifer Kafka Smith, March 5, 2015

      You can stop by AHUM 011e any time MWF from 830am-10 am to find out more about our club.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *