Fall 2019 Essex Club List - Welcome Back!

The CCBC Essex Student Life Office is committed to providing educational, developmental and social activities that complement the classroom learning experience. The Office of Student Life sponsors a variety of clubs and organizations and hosts events through the academic school year. All clubs, organizations and events are open to all CCBC students.

You can join clubs, get updates, contact leaders and learn about events on campus by joining CollegiateLink. www.ccbcmd.edu/lead   all you need is your CCBC login and password to access this site.

*****************************************************************************************************

ADIM Art Club – The Art Club at CCBC Essex takes trips to local museums and schools, organizes arts events, and works to promote the visual arts on campus. Advisor: David Zobel 443-840-4643, dzobel@ccbcmd.edu

Anime Club - The Anime Club is to provide a space where students with similar hobbies in Japanese and American popular cultures can meet and network with each other. Advisor: Greg Stiffler 443-840-2643,gstiffler@ccbcmd.edu

Bethel Campus Fellowship Bible Study – The Bethel Campus Fellowship Bible Study meets weekly on campus to provide Christian Fellowship, a time for prayer, bible study and to share the love of Christ unconditionally with students, faculty and staff members. Advisor: Arreal Nelson 443-840-1104, anelson2@ccbcmd.edu

Business Club - Reinforces the classroom learning experience by providing students with opportunities to better their community through leadership and teamwork. Advisor: Kelly Lemons 443-840-1447, klemons@ccbcmd.edu

Club Ed – We are a club for people interested in the education profession. Those wishing to work with students, infants through high school, including special needs education are invited to join us.
Advisor: Jessica Brown-Strott 443-840-1430, jbrownstrott@ccbcmd.edu

College Programming Board (CPB) – The board is responsible for organizing a wide variety of events and activities for the entire student body. The activities have a broad appeal to a diverse audience.
Advisor: Sakina Ligon 443-840-1963, sligon@ccbcmd.edu

Dance Union – To provide physical activity and leisure, through a new dance style to all with a love for dance. Advisor: Kelli Brandjes 443-840-1521, kbrandjes@ccbcmd.edu

Environmental Club/Campus Community Garden- We provide activities and events to get students out into the Environment and take action to make the world a healthier, more sustainable place. Advisor: Elizabeth Shrader 443-840-2680, eshrader@ccbcmd.edu

Film Society Club – A club dedicated to cinematography, taking the time to educate members about the mediums and methods used to produce professional quality imagery, works and performances. Advisors: Pete Carver 443-840-1835, pcarver2@ccbcmd.edu and Kendrick Kenney 443-840-1514, kkenney3@ccbcmd.edu

Honors Council – The Essex Honors Council aims to enrich the educational experience of the exceptional student and seeks to admit students who have the ability, interest and initiative to be successful in the Honors Program. Advisors: Amy Wilson 443-840-1850, awilson@ccbcmd.edu and Carr Kizzier 443-840-1638,ckizzier@ccbcmd.edu

Mundo Hispano - The purpose of the club is to familiarize students in the CCBC community with the values of the Hispanic and Latino culture. Advisor: Guillermo Gibens 443-840-3364, ggibens@ccbcmd.edu

Nursing Student Association (NSA) – The Nursing Student Association is open to all first and second year nursing students. The purpose of the organization is to provide an opportunity for student involvement in a professional association. Advisors: Marianne Eichenberger 443-840-1932, meichenberger@ccbcmd.edu and Vernell Thames 443-840-1649,vthames@ccbcmd.edu

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) – Phi Theta Kappa is an international two-year college honor society which accepts into membership all students full or part time, who have achieved grade point average of 3.5 or better after completing at least 12 credits. Advisors: Sue Fenton 443-840-1918, sfenton@ccbcmd.edu and Sakina Ligon 443-840-1963, essexptk@ccbcmd.edu

Philosophy Club - Meets weekly to read and discuss current philosophical topics, and plan campus events. The Philosophy club participates in the Regional 2-year college Ethics Bowl, which takes place annually in November. Advisor: Nicholas VanHorn 443-840-2085, nvanhorn@ccbcmd.edu

Photography Club - To provide an opportunity for students to supplement their learning of photography by interacting with people who have the same interest. Advisors: Robert Creamer 443-840-5992, rcreamer@ccbcmd.edu and Mark Lane: 443-840-1189, mlane@ccbcmd.edu

Progressive Student Alliance (PSA) - Is a new student organization formed out of the Black Student Union, the Rainbow Club, the Students for Social Justice, and the Women’s Studies Club. The PSA is dedicated to ending systemic oppression of all marginalized communities by working for social and economic justice on our campus, in our communities, and beyond. While offering direct support for students who have experienced oppression based on their gender, racial, economic class, or sexual/gender identities, the PSA seeks to educate and organize students around the idea of empowerment through unity and non-violent action. We are committed to facilitating opportunities that encourage progressive social change by organizing events, lectures, fieldtrips, cultural and social programs, and rallies. Advisors: Ingrid Sabio-McLaughlin 443-840-1483, isabio@ccbcmd.edu; Morgan Slusher 443-840-1678, mslusher@ccbcmd.edu; Kim Jensen 443-840-1778, kjensen@ccbcmd.edu; and Dawn Greeley 443-840-1578, dgreeley@ccbcmd.edu

Student Government Association (SGA) – SGA’s purpose is to provide a voice in the administrative affairs of the college, particularly areas that affect academics and social programming for all students. Advisor: Sakina Ligon 443-840-1963, sligon@ccbcmd.edu

Veterans Association- To inform members of the financial and academic benefits afforded to them as veterans at CCBC. The Veterans Association also serves as a platform for members to voice their opinions

2 comments

  1. Peggy 28 November, 2018 at 04:45 Reply

    I am interested in applying to the Honors Council, Phi Theta Kappa, Philosophy Club, and Student Government Association (SGA). So far I have completed the process of Honors Council, and am now waiting for all my finalized grades at the end of the semester in order to be eligible to apply to Phi Theta Kappa and SGA. As for Philosophy Club, i will need to find out more information in order to be able to apply.

Leave a reply